Home » Blue » February 18th, 2017

February 18th, 2017

Today I feel Anger (red), Sadness (blue), and Bewildermint (teal).

I saw the movie Silence (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0490215/?ref_=nv_sr_2) today. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, and don’t want any spoilers, you should stop reading now, bookmark this post, and finish reading it after you watch the movie.

I felt angry through most of the movie. It’s one thing to have evil leadership… but that people follow their orders to torture another human being for days is insane. The fact that other people will just stand by and watch it happen right in front of their faces when they out number their captors, I don’t understand. When given three days to make a decision, I wouldn’t be having a meeting to discuss who is going be picked to die a horrible death… I’d be planning how to defend my home, and then how to run away to a new village. “He isn’t part of this village, he should sacrifice himself for us.” made me sick. I know violence won’t solve violence in the long run… but just accepting it made that a long period of history.

I felt sad. There is just so much heartbreak in the world, and this highlights a moment in humanity’s violence. The hardest message to deal with was the idea of what an individual man should do in the face of it. I felt bewildered trying to think of what I would do.

Leave a Reply

