Home » Daily » January 4th, 2017

January 4th, 2017

Today I feel surprised (teal).

I went out this morning to get that hair cut finally. I went back to the place that at least made me laugh about them closing down. They opened about a half hour later than the other places, but it was worth the wait.

While I have little problem ordering food and making simple comments about life around me in Chinese, I certainly don’t know how to “order” a hair cut with any detail. Even in English I really don’t understand any of the terminology or concepts of hair style. I was able to show her how short I wanted it… and after a series of questions I did not understand a word of regarding the style, I finally told her that anything was okay.

I tried my hardest to not have a scary face the whole time… but I’m fairly certain that I failed. I just have a lot of apprehension (dark green) when it comes to hair cuts. That plus the fact I can’t see anything without my glasses, so my eyes just kind of zone out, makes for an angry face (so I’m told).

In the end, the hair cut was unlike any I have ever had before. It is a very local style (for those who don’t know already, I live in Taiwan). It was also the first time I actually liked a hair cut as soon as I saw it in the mirror. It has always taken a few days for a new cut to grow on me.

Needless to say I made sure to get her business card for my next hair cut… or if I just need it styled for a special occasion of some kind… because while maybe I have enough experience with hair gel to mimic some of the style, I don’t have any knowledge of hairspray.

2 thoughts on “January 4th, 2017

    • Me too! Especially since the last hair cut I got in Taiwan had my students laughing at me for a week… and I couldn’t even get mad at them because I had seen myself in the mirror.

      Like

Leave a Reply

